Visa information

A citizen of a foreign country who seeks to enter the United States generally must first obtain a U.S. visa, which is placed in the traveler’s passport, a travel document issued by the traveler’s country of citizenship.

For further information about visas and to find out what type visa is appropriate for you please visit the Travel.State.Gov website.

Visa Waiver Program

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) enables most citizens or nationals of participating countries to travel to the United States for tourism or business for stays of 90 days or less without obtaining a visa. Travelers must have a valid Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) approval prior to travel and meet all requirements explained below.

You must be a citizen or national of the following countries* to be eligible to travel to the United States under the VWP.

  • Andorra
  • Hungary
  • Norway
  • Australia
  • Iceland
  • Portugal
  • Austria
  • Ireland
  • San Marino
  • Belgium
  • Italy
  • Singapore
  • Brunei
  • Japan
  • Slovakia
  • Chile
  • Latvia
  • Slovenia
  • Czech Republic
  • Liechtenstein
  • South Korea
  • Denmark
  • Lithuania
  • Spain
  • Estonia
  • Luxembourg
  • Sweden
  • Finland
  • Malta
  • Switzerland
  • France
  • Monaco
  • Taiwan*
  • Germany
  • Netherlands
  • United Kingdom**
  • Greece
  • New Zealand


**To be eligible to travel under the VWP, British citizens must have the unrestricted right of permanent abode in England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, the Channel Islands, and the Isle of Man.

For further information about the VWP, please visit the Travel.State.Gov website.



Supporting Publications
Organized by
  • Elsevier
  • University of Miami
  • usylvester
  • University of Miami
  • MFA
  • usylvester
  • university of miami
  • usylvester-logo
  • ubmb-foundation-logo
  • gene